Serving Rome, New York residents with legal issues

Protect Your Retirement Assets In Divorce With A Qualified Domestic Relations Order

After the family house, pensions are typically the next biggest asset to be divided in a divorce. A qualified domestic relations order (QDRO) is an order used to transfer an interest in a pension. My name is Michael Putter. I have more than 40 years of experience in family law and have helped countless clients with QDRO matters. At my firm, Michael G. Putter, Attorney at Law, I prepare orders dividing pensions for clients both at the time of the divorce and years after the fact.

Orders Cover All Types Of Pensions

I represent both payers and alternate payees in QDRO actions for all types of pensions, including those with defined contributions, such as 401(k) retirement accounts, as well as those with defined benefits, where a person receives an average of a certain amount determined by a set formula.

Timing Of Division

I can help either side of a QDRO matter. Whatever the timing of it is, I prepare the order correctly the first time so that it is clear how the pension will be divided, ultimately saving both parties a lot of time, energy and money.

If I represent the participant spouse who has the pension, I can help protect that person from having to include a lot of extras. If I represent the person seeking a portion of the pension, I work to maximize what that person receives

Entrust Your Case To A Highly Regarded Attorney

While I can help you with any aspect of family law, I have earned a reputation for my knowledge of and effectiveness in matters related to QDROs. I regularly receive referrals from other firms for this portion of their clients’ divorces. To learn more about QDROs and how I can help you with the division of your pension both during or after a divorce, contact my firm in Rome, New York, to schedule a consultation. Call 315-337-8800 or fill out my online contact form.

At Michael G. Putter, Attorney at Law, I represent clients throughout the Mohawk Valley, including the counties of Herkimer, Lewis, Madison and Oneida.